Never Give Up!

Good morning ladies,

It has to have been 2 years ago now when I had a friend was standing in my kitchen telling me just how much she wanted to be a runner.  My friend was very overweight, some would say obese, and she didn’t want to run outside, she said, because the “pounding noises I would make would be too embarrassing   Mel”, she said, “I don’t know how to get started, I’m too fat”.  I’m sure I told her sometime stupid but I remember thinking if you stop thinking about what other people are thinking you could do it!

Then just over a year ago she told me she joined Borgess Run Camp with her mom and friend and she would be training to run the 5K.  Lord help me I just wanted to start bawling, she was going to do this, she was going to go for the goal!!!  I remember watching her run up Brook Drive Hill toward the end of the 5K, she was so determined to run up that horrible, awful, painful hill.  She did and she made it across that finish line with her 1st 5K under her belt.  Not too long after she ran that 5K she said to me, “Mel, I want to run a 1/2 marathon.  Do you think I can do it?”  OMG, absolutely, you just have to start training.

This past winter she began training but it’s hard to be a fat runner.  The knees hurt more than other sleek, small runners, the feet hurt more than others, the hips hurt more than others.  The pain of being a new distance runner is just so much harder when you are overweight.  Every part of the body has to work harder and it screams back at you in pain!  But it didn’t matter, she made it through all those long training runs with sheer determination!

Yesterday I had the honor of cheering for her as she ran her first, but I’m sure NOT THE LAST, 1/2 Marathon.  Here is a post from AFTER…

“I’m sure many of you are over my running statuses but I have one last post and it’s the most important. 5 years ago this Month I almost lost my life to an asthma attack (due to years of smoking) which would have left my son w/ no parent! Who knew that 5 years later I would run 13.1 miles nonstop. I can’t begin to explain how proud I am of this accomplishment and how amazing I feel!!! Now, I’m sure you can see why this was such a big deal for me. Knowing Grayson was at the end waiting for me would make me choke up and keep running, and my proudest moment was when he ran w/ me at the end! Now, If you are struggling to quit smoking, I am proof that you can and your kids will be so proud of you.”

Ambers Biggest Fan

Ambers Biggest Fan

Runner into the Shoot

Runner into the Shoot

EVERYTHING IS POSSIBLE!!

EVERYTHING IS POSSIBLE!!

 

 

So many times we let the idea of what others think hold us back from our own goals and dreams.  Today be Amber-esque; be willing to dream the dream then go for it!!!

Your Turn

Mel

One thought on “Never Give Up!

  1. What an awesome, amazing story Mel! Thank you for sharing. I was feeling down on myself for letting some of the very hard fought weight creep back on the scale ;-( This brought my focus back around. Hugs!!

Leave a Reply

