Real Me

Good morning ladies,

I have a large dimple on my right thigh I am always trying to keep covered.  I have had acne for years, sometimes when I wear my hat it is because I think you can’t see it if it’s on.  My teeth are yellowing and crooked because I HATE going to the dentist.  I am jealous of my best friend’s relationship with her parents.  I am so selfish that whenever I go into a store I think about buying for myself before anyone else in my family.  I love money and I want a lot of it.  I have a short fuse and when I blow my temper I scream and say mean things to whoever is around.  I have a very hard time finishing things that I start.

These may be trivial issues but they are parts of me that I don’t want people to know.  I hide them and try to pretend that I am better than I am.

We have been taught how to apply make-up to conceal our trouble spots.  We hunt for the perfect bathing suit that will draw attention to the more appealing parts of ourselves.  We smile and pretend we are happy when our lives are a mess.  Basically we have been brought up and taught to be liars; not the mean kind but the kind that says we aren’t allowed to be OK with ALL of what we are.  We are obsessed with PERFECTION when perfection, the kind in our mind, doesn’t exist so we play pretend.

Regardless of all the flaws I can find in myself I am beautiful where I stand.  My flaws do not make me unlikeable; they allow me to have understanding and kindness toward others.  The mistakes in my past allow me to have empathy with what others have gone through.

I want to live in a world with real people, the kind that are able to be honest about them but I don’t know if it is possible.  To be real means we would need to be vulnerable, that is so scary.  I think it would be amazing to be disliked because of who I truly am versus the fake me, would that hurt more?

Let’s lay it all out there, let’s be real friends.  When I ask you how you are today you don’t need to say, “great”.  I want to be your real friend, will you be mine?

Happenings Today

6:45pm – Cheer For You; Sign Making Party – Your Turn Office, 3234 S. Westnedge, Kalamazoo MI – bring yourself and your creative personality.

Get Your Sweat On

Your Turn

Mel

Leave a Reply

