Thanks Mac!

Good Morning,

I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy the sunshine yesterday. It was a Monday morning in October that I showed up at kettlebell for the first time in a few weeks. It just happened to be weigh-in day. I wasn’t worried; I had been busy, working out here and there. Ken Dettloff, who is my mentor and fitness guide, was leading the class. YIKES! I couldn’t believe my eyes. I had been exercising (kind of here and there) and I am a healthy eater (usually, not always). Ken said “acceptable” with a disapproving courtesy smile. He knows what I am capable of. It was my wake up call. Not the number on the scale as much as the fact that I had become soft not strong, heavy not healthy, my clothes were comfy not confident. I joined a run group and have been strength training at the Y every Tuesday and Thursday since October.

Besides Ken, there is a man that rides his bike to the Y everyday (even in the winter), I call him Mac. He always says hello. We are in the weight room at the same time. Last week he acknowledged how hard I had been working gave me a pat on the back and said, “you have been doing real well now you just need to be consistent” WHAT? How it is that someone I merely greet can see into my soul and know the one word that challenges every ounce of my being.

Consistent by definition : marked by harmony, regularity, or steady continuity : free from variation or contradiction.

“Success is neither magical nor mysterious. Success is the natural consequence of consistently applying basic fundamentals.” Jim Rohn

Your Turn strives to support women not only in getting healthy but to be consistently staying healthy. We are on the right track; don’t let anyone (myself included) slip through the cracks.

You know that one thing that you did that one time that made you feel so good about yourself, Do It Again Today and again Thursday and again and again and again….

Get Your Sweat On
Dawn

One thought on “Thanks Mac!

Leave a Reply

