What Doesn’t Kill You

Good morning ladies,

Re-blog from June of 2012

This morning I awoke to the song in my head “What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger” by Kelly Clarkson.  I do not know any more words than those but they kept ringing over and over in my head and finally I let the meaning of them sink in and I began thinking.  To have the desire we have become our reality takes effort, not necessarily work, but effort in knowing that we do want this thing and following the path that leads us to the fulfillment of that.

When I decided to not be fat anymore I followed my path to the Y, to sign up for a class, to go to that class each time it was offered.  When I got as much from that class as possible I moved on to a different class and to changing my eating habits.  I felt compelled to do those things.  There were times I would be moaning and groaning in those classes because I would put my entire self in that workout, so much so that maybe I did think it would kill me but it didn’t and it did make me stronger.   This time in my life not only made me stronger physically but also mentally.  I KNEW I was changing in the direction of my goal and I was willing to do whatever it took to get there.

I see so many people going about the same routine and getting the same results; this is not only about our fitness level but also within in our self.  You may be so tired of nagging to get something done and it doesn’t get done any differently….why, because you are approaching it in the same manner that DOESN’T work.  You may be getting to the gym each day and working out in the same manner but nothing changes…..why, because you are approaching it in the same manner that DOESN’T work.  Doing the same thing over and over and getting the same result SHOULD be telling each of us something; stop doing what you are doing!  Start doing it differently; maybe you don’t know how, then talk to new people, read a different magazine or book….GET OUT OF YOUR COMFORT ZONE!

Trying something in a new way will NOT kill you and it WILL make you stronger.  Maybe the strength you find is in your new ability to try something different.  Maybe the strength you find is in your mind.  Maybe the strength you find is in your ability to do a chin up.  You don’t know the strength you will find because we each find a different one.  Be willing to get to the “it almost killed me” spot because it is in those spots that we grow and become that sturdy tree, the face of a sunflower that is a little taller than all the rest, the woman standing in a crowd that yells out “I’ll try it”!  I double dog dare you to ALMOST kill yourself today and discover the strength you didn’t know you had!

Get Your Sweat On!

Your Turn

Mel

One thought on “What Doesn’t Kill You

Leave a Reply

