Friday Email Submission

Good morning ladies,

Following is a contribution from a YT Inspirator:

Runners of Greater St. Joseph Co

Runners of Greater St. Joseph Co, Chris, Sara and Cindy

Never did I think I would be a runner, But as of my Birthday July 25th I decided to come out to support my daughter starting your couch to 5k even if I just walked around the track I would be there. What happened instead was I got better every week. That first time I ran for 90 seconds I thought quietly to me “what are you doing here” but the women beside me encouraged me it was ok “only 60 more seconds, only 30, then you did it”. I did do it more and more every week because someone was always telling me to keep it up just a little bit more, you’re going to make it, and surprised as I was (and I was) I did make it week after week.

Night run, Runners of Greater St. Joseph Co. - Sara, Melissa, Ann and Cindy

Night run, Runners of Greater St. Joseph Co. – Sara, Melissa, Ann and Cindy

My daughters both had to stop for different reasons but I kept going. I remember asking if it was ok to walk/run a 5k because I didn’t think I could run the whole thing. The first time I ran 3 miles with Mel I was shocked, excited, happy, I couldn’t wait to do more.

Runners of Greater St. Joseph Co. during Cindy's 1st 3 mile full run EVER!!!

Runners of Greater St. Joseph Co. during Cindy’s 1st 3 mile full run EVER!!!

 

I’m still not a speed runner I have a very slow pace but much faster than when I began. I ran the 5k, I did it, and it wasn’t as hard as I thought but my mind kept making worry. I try to just go and give it what I’ve got but without these women that help me, run slower to stay with me, and encourage me when they see its getting rougher I would never be a runner and I AM A RUNNER. I’m about to start training for the 1/2 marathon (mostly because I said yes before I even knew how far that was). I keep thinking man can I run 13 miles I’m still only doing 3, but then tonight I thought well of course I can I ran 3 miles with these women and others that support me now I really think I can do it and maybe much more.

Runners-of-Kalamazoo-Race-Day-Cindy_thumb.jpg

Runners-of-Kalamazoo-Race-Day-Finish-Line-Group.jpg

A few YT Inspirators with Cindy in the middle.

Runners-of-Kalamazoo-Race-Day-Cindy-and-Husband.jpg

Cindy and her husband after accomplishing her 1st 5K Race!!!

I really hope if you think you can’t do it you just keep coming out, because that’s certainly better than not trying at all and you can do it.

Cindy

How can you just not be in love with Cindy!!!  How can you say YOU CAN’T when there must be a seed inside of you that says “maybe I could just try”.  It doesn’t have to be running, try ANYTHING, try EVERYTHING.  Cindy did it and so can YOU!!!

I hope you are coming out to Soups On; Meet and Greet tonight, Cindy will be there and so will about 25 other women.  Let’s encourage each other!  Also, we are serving HOMEMADE Chicken Noodle Soup, Vegetarian Potato Leek Soup and Vegan Sweet Potato Soup, staying home would be silly!

 

Get Your Sweat On

 

Your Turn

Mel

 

2 thoughts on “Friday Email Submission

Leave a Reply

