Rooms of Life

Good morning ladies,

“I’m going to base this moment on who I am stuck in a room with.  That’s what life is, it’s a series of rooms and who we get stuck in those rooms with adds up to what our lives are.”

At the moment I heard that I was in a room with my husband and Walter, we were all snuggled in bed together.  I love being awake early to hear the quiet or watch TV with Jimmy, something that is NOT cartoonies.  I thought about whom I am in most of the rooms in my life with, are they people I want to be around….at this time in my life they are.

That wasn’t always the case and the reason for that was I was always in a room with myself; Old Mel was not a person I liked very much.  Old Mel made me feel ashamed, embarrassed, sad, angry, bitter.  Ohh, I did a great job covering it up; I was a laugher, talker, drinker….all around fun time but it was all an act.  Here’s the funny thing about that, I didn’t even know it.  I thought at the time I was fine and fun and happy; it wasn’t until I felt true happiness that I realized that WASN’T what I was earlier in my life.

Hearing that quote hit me hard in that I LOVE the person in the room with me even when it is just me.  I LOVE the people I share my life with, share my runs with, share my time in conversation with and if I don’t I have enough respect for me and them to get out of that room.

As we are looking forward into 2013 I hope you take the time to look at those you find yourself in rooms with; other people and yourself.

If you’re looking for a new room with new people in it join some of the Your Turn Inspirators on Friday night at 6:30 at the Your Turn Office at 3234 S. Westnedge for our Soups On, Meet and Greet.  I look forward to being in a room with you.

Get Your Sweat On

Your Turn

Mel

2 thoughts on “Rooms of Life

Leave a Reply

