Support-R-Us

Good morning ladies,

I got an email from a new woman who is interested in becoming more involved in YT than just in the virtual YT world.  She said, “It’s about time women start supporting and helping each other instead of keeping each other down.”

It took me a minute to compute that because I’ve been in a place of upliftment for the past year and I had forgotten the land of bitch-fest and nit-picking one another.  It brought to my mind a segment of a morning talk show of some years ago where they had stay-at-home moms and working moms together discussing the benefits for the children.  I remember watching these women ripping on another apart to prove their point that THEIR way was the RIGHT way and the other way was somehow wrong.

But isn’t this what we do in most everything, tear the other down to prove to them and ourselves that WE are the RIGHT ones?  We hold judgments for the reason being that we want to be RIGHT because what if their way is RIGHT….oh my god, does that mean I’m wrong?

What about both ways are absolutely FINE?  Can’t there be visible benefits from both fences?  This isn’t just about stay-at-home moms vs working moms, this is about almost EVERYTHING.  We stand in judgment of another person’s car, home, hair style, choice of clothing, activity level…the list goes on and on.

I have read that for some, self-esteem is directly related to making others feel bad or wrong if it is not matched to their own version of right.  The dictionary definition of self-esteem is….

self-es·teem

[self-i-steem, self-]

noun

1. a realistic respect for or favorable impression of oneself; self-respect.

2. an inordinately or exaggeratedly favorable impression of oneself.

Nowhere in that definition does it state that your self-esteem is attached to another person, self-esteem is PERSONAL for ONLY You!!!  Only ABOUT you!!!

There is a need for many to understand this concept.  Do YOU understand this concept?  Your version of yourself is solely based upon how YOU feel about YOU!!!

I know my self-esteem rises upon my own ability to do as I feel I should.  Serving others increases my self-esteem.  When I run my self-esteem rises.  When I feel STRONG I feel that I have high self-esteem.  When I am doing what I feel is appropriate for my children and husband my self-esteem is high.  I also know when my self-esteem is low; it is when I am angry.  My self-esteem feels low when I have doubt about my future.  I feel as though my self-esteem is low when I criticize myself and a choice I made when the outcome had a different outcome that I originally desired.

It’s all PERSONAL.  It is ALL focused on ME!!!

Be a master of YOU and let others be a master of them.  Your Turn is exactly as our new YT Inspirator said, supporting up not keeping each other down.

Get Your Sweat On

Your Turn

Mel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

