Is Pride the Word?

Good morning ladies,

Let me begin by saying I am on vacation this week.  That means I do NOT take Jimmy to work which means I do NOT get up at 4:30am to begin my day so the emails from me may be a little late, like today.  Sleeping in is such a treat!  On to today’s email/blog.

I never know if I should be proud of other people, I think it’s more important to have self pride and I am not everyone’s parent that I am proud of….it seems to be a hard word for me to say to another adult. Pride somehow feels like I have had a hand in what the accomplishment is and I know beyond knowledge that I am challenged with the idea that anyone else’s accomplishment has anything to do with me but today I am going to use it because I cannot think of anything else that fits.

On Sunday, yesterday, I told you about a group of women who supported each other to a goal. This group of women banded together because of a common goal which is the ENTIRE point of Your Turn. Banding together for women seems like such a natural occurrence as long as we take our differences of many things out of the equation like how the other parents, views on religion or politics, jealousy…so many reasons why women just don’t get along sometimes.

I’m going to tell you, I thought they had done all the banding together that was possible UNTIL…..we all got to the race site. NOTHING but love for another, ENCOURAGEMENT toward the other, EXCITEMENT of ALL, and PRIDE that we supported each other to this point. I cannot speak for each of the women but from my perspective all I felt was pride…pride in them, pride in myself, pride in Your Turn, pride when others looked our way because we were SO BLOODY LOUD and I can only imagine that they were wondering what the hell was going on, who the hell we were and what the hell was YOUR TURN (which I was asked to my delight on a few occasions).

Yesterday I showed you pictures on the way to this point. Today you get the delight of seeing the pictures taken as the women were coming up to the finish line of the race that they banded together to achieve!

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Berta and Holly

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Rene

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Sara

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Megan

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Kelly

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Ann

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Kathy

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Monica

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Sarah

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Stacy

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Cindy

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Sylvia MaryBeth

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Tonia

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Finish Line Group

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Monica and Mel

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Runners High

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Sara Z

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Monica Mel Dawn

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Cindy and Husband

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Dawn Ann Mel

Runners of Kalamazoo Race Day - Group Shot

Again I am going to implore upon those who want support but are too nervous too come out and join us…..Come on in, there is LOVE here for YOU!!!

Get Your Sweat On

Your Turn

Mel

2 thoughts on “Is Pride the Word?

  1. PRIDE, ABSOLUTELY!!!! I am proud of the entire Your Turn group. I am proud of you and Dawn and Rene for everything each of you did to encourage each of these special ladies (and YES, you DID have a hand in it)!

    • Thank you Karen. I wasn’t really looking for compliments on this post….but I appreciate them. It really is AMAZING what Your Turn has accomplished in the short time we have been around.
      Looking forward to onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

