The Disease

Good morning ladies,

How often have you said to yourself, I could NEVER do that?  How many times has someone given you a glimpse of their life and you are reminded how thankful you are for the life you are living?

Last night I had the pleasure and opportunity to be amongst a group of professionals who have made it their mission to increase awareness and decrease the disease that is BREAST CANCER.

I have been so fortunate in my life that breast cancer hasn’t struck anyone in my immediate circle but cancer itself has.  I have lost my dad to cancer, it was a 2 ½ year battle for him and to be honest I am so thankful he is at peace now and my reason is I don’t know if I could have taken it anymore.  Right, me, the daughter, not the one with cancer….I couldn’t take it anymore.  Whenever I think of that I wonder what kind of person I am to have feelings such as these.  However, I know I could have taken it as long as I needed to and so could he have.

When we are in positions of powerlessness we have the ability to adapt to things we wouldn’t, when we are in a place of perceived power, ever think we could.  Our minds protect us and give us that small step glimpse from one moment to the next but not much further.  We hold tight to our determination and faith that all things will be as they are meant to, which means a healing, possibly some grand medical breakthrough at the final hour.

It is in those moments that we realize what truly is important, what we want our legacy to be and we try to come up with why we are here going through this in the first place.  In cancer is one of those times that we just DO.  My dad did things while ill he would NEVER have thought he could do.  My mom did things during that time that she didn’t ever know she had the strength to do.  I, too, even from hundreds of miles away did things I didn’t think I could or would ever do.

In life there should be only love; love for ourselves, even selfishly, and love for those around us.  In life we need to know we CAN do ANYTHING we choose to do and we need to be reminded to do just that, ANYTHING!  What has tripped your fancy that you thought to yourself, “I would love to do that” and before the inevitable BUT comes creeping in write that down and decide you WILL do it.  Don’t wait, do it now while you are able.  If you aren’t able at this moment have the belief, make the plan, and follow those small steps to making that “I would love to” be a reality.

Maybe today you don’t get your sweat on, maybe instead you relish a movie and a snuggle.  Maybe today you give in to that treat you have been denying yourself.  Maybe today you give yourself the gift of scheduling a massage that you feel is too selfish to do.  Love yourself today, exactly as you are and remember you are as strong as you need to be at any moment.

All my love.

Happenings Today:

Kalamazoo Co.

Wednesday

  • Ø 6am – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.
  • Ø 6:40am – Women on Weights @ Maple St.  YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.
  • Ø 9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.
  • Ø 9am – Zumba @ Just Move Fitness and More in Portage – Please note this is a paid class; check out http://www.justmovefit.com
  • Ø 4:30pm – WERQ @ Just Move Fitness and More in Portage – Please note this is a paid class; check out www.justmovefit.com
  • Ø 6pm – R.I.P.P.E.D @ Just Move Fitness and More in Portage – Please note this is a paid class; check out www.justmovefit.com
  • Ø 7pm – Healthful Holiday Helpings @ Gazelle Sports in Downtown Kalamazoo – Please join us for this FREE event where we’ll be discussing ways to make traditional holiday meals healthy while finding time to exercise during this busy time of year.  Hosted by Lexie Timpson.
  • Ø 7:30pm – Water Zumba @ Portage YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.

Greater St. Joseph Co.

Wednesday

  • Ø 5am – Zumba @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena for pricing
  • Ø 5:15pm – Floor, Core & More @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena for pricing
  • Ø 6:15 – Zumba @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena for pricing
  • Ø 7pm – Yoga @ Constantine Fitness Center in Constantine – Please bring light hand weights – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kathy for pricing
  • Ø 7:30 – Yoga Stretch @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena for pricing

Your Turn

Mel

Leave a Reply

