Friday Email from YT Inspirator

No One Told Me

As a new runner, there were a few things no one told me. Perhaps I missed it when I was told, but I’m starting to pick them up along the way. Pacing, eating before running, stretching, rest days, icing, rock tape.

And today, no one told me there was a competition. Today? I thought that was weeks away! But oh yes — there was indeed a competition. And yes, I did compete, even though I was the only runner.

I remember Mel once said “Strength isn’t about the size of your guns or the pace of your run; it’s about the strength of your determination.” And that’s exactly what I found myself competing against today. My determination.

I had every reason in the world NOT to run today. A cold windy day, the ridiculous number of items on my to do list, and no one else to run with at that moment. Later on, another day, but not NOW when I was suited up + ready to go. The moment I hesitated — ever so briefly — that’s when I knew I MUST run today despite the obstacles and reasons I could have chosen not to. After all, it was just me up against my determination. No one else to clock it, check it, watch it. Just the two of us.

I chose to welcome this challenge. Bring it ON! –wind, cold, massive number of to do’s, solitude, pain. I made a choice to try to run in the first place simply because I don’t think I can. And I want to be WRONG WRONG WRONG! I want to challenge my long held belief that I will never achieve a respectable level of fitness for myself. I’ve never wanted to be so wrong.

Another thing no one told me was how emotional running can be. Or why runners cry. But as today’s victory was nearly certain, the tears came flooding out. I pictured my posse, my army, my tribe — all the people in my life that are beside me now as I try to conquer this self imposed belief. They were all along the trail cheering me on, if only in my imagination. Every one of them was smiling from ear to ear. I could picture my friends, my family, and surely my girls from Your Turn. Without my YT girls, I simply would never have attempted this. This I know for sure!

But today was not really about running. It was just a test. A pop quiz to assess my current level of determination. As the clock began to run out, I knew I passed the quiz. My determination is solid and ready for the next moment of challenge, and ready for the next quiz that will come when I’m not expecting it.

Where are you at with YOUR determination? How did your pop quiz go?

One of many YT Inspirators

I just love reading the Friday Email Submissions; we would love to hear from you.  Please feel free to send us your Friday Email Submission, you can put your name on the bottom or go anonymous.

Happenings This Weekend

Greater Kalamazoo County

Friday

Ø 9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.

Saturday

Ø 9:15am – Zumba Senato @ Trinity Lutheran School in Paw Paw – Please note this is a paid class ($5)

Ø 10:30am – Body Blast @ Portage YMCA (please go early as to get a spot and have help setting up if this is your first class)

Ø 10:30am – Zumba @ Maple St. YMCA

Ø 5:30pm – Just Move Fitness and More Open House

Sunday

Ø 12:30pm – Water Fitness @ Maple St. YMCA

Ø 2pm – Zumba @ Trinity Lutheran School in Paw Paw – Please note this is a paid class ($5)

Ø 3:30pm – Zumba @ Chung’s Black Belt in Portage – Please note this is a paid class; check with Melissa for pricing

Greater St. Joseph Co.

Saturday

Ø 8am – Quick Core @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena for pricing

Ø 9am – Awakening Yoga @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena for pricing

Sunday

Ø Runners of Greater St. Joseph Co get together for an evening run. If you would like more information please let me know and I will get that to you.

If you have any questions as to who is going where please feel free to shoot me an email and I would gladly hook you up with the appropriate Your Turn Inspirator. This list is to excite you, inspire you and motivate you to get involved!!!

Get Your Sweat On!

Your Turn

Mel

Leave a Reply

