Fellow Followers

Good morning ladies,

I am so INSPIRED!!!  I just was sent a journal entry that I hope to use as the Friday email next week and it has pumped me up!!!

On to today’s email.  Yesterday I left the YT Gathering with dried tears on my cheeks because the topic was overcoming your fear.  I have a fear; I am afraid I will not be the runner/exercise fanatic I was due to the inability of my ankle to heal properly.  Yes, I know it just takes time but I am becoming very uncomfortable being told to “NOT USE IT, DO YOU SEE HOW SWOLLEN IT STILL IS?  IF IT WERE YOUR ELBOW IT WOULD BE HEALED BY NOW”.  I don’t think I like PT.  He’s telling me this as I am NOT doing anything!  God, if only he could understand all of the exercise I want to do, just walking isn’t it.  Anyway, my point is that I left the gathering having gotten out my fear and also having come up with a plan to do things I don’t necessarily like but am willing to do to get some movement in my day…..I am going to become a swimmer (I don’t really like being wet).

After the Gathering I was driving to my PT appointment and following in this very long line of cars down Westnedge toward Bronson Hospital.  There were very few cars in the lane to my left and none that I could see in the lane to my right.  Now, this is a 3 lane street that I am driving down, I am running late (which makes me want to have road rage) and I thought, “you need to pull into the right lane” but then I thought, “no one is in that lane, there must be a reason, maybe there’s construction ahead”.  I was at the light of Crosstown Parkway when cars began slipping into the right lane.  Finally I felt freed to do the same.  Do you see that, I was afraid to driving in a lane of the road because there wasn’t anyone driving in it but as there were more cars in it I felt so inclined to do the same?  Do you get it?  I am FOLLOWING, not leading the charge but FOLLOWING the masses.

Here I was running late following this long line of slow moving cars when I could have gone into the right lane and forged ahead but I didn’t.  I followed!  I followed because I assumed that something must have been wrong in the right lane.  So, I did a little throw up in my mouth when this realization hit me and I began to think about how we are all followers in one way or another.  A little timid laced with unsightly fear of if we are to forge our own path.

Segway to health and YT (very sly I am) J.  We follow the same unhealthy path we have been on because why, is it better than the alternative?  Do we really believe that we are better off here in the middle lane following behind the long slow dyers (maybe a little harsh)?  No, I don’t believe that’s true.  I believe it is because we are following in a safe lane that we can expect to go a certain way.  No rocking of the boat by telling people that we are going to take some time for ourselves.  No speeding down the fast lane all out of control, or so we think people may think of us as we careen ourselves toward a healthy body, inside and out.  No discomfort when we make that appointment to see a therapist (omg, people will think I’m crazy).  We follow because of fear, real or perceived.

I know, I know, YOU are certainly NOT afraid of becoming healthy and well, you are certainly just too busy for it.  I say you’re lying.  That says to me you are afraid to take a good hard look at where you spend your time.  I did a YT Gathering once where we took our time wheel and placed where we spent time and the women there told me that it must have been wrong, they certainly do NOT have 3 hours during the day that they waste.  I’ll tell you, as I told them; the numbers don’t lie (ask any accountant).

So for all of you FOLLOWERS out there, myself included apparently, you can feel safe that you can make this change toward your health and wellness because you are going to keep being a follower.  No fear or discomfort here.  WE, fellow YT Inspirators, are all following each other.  We are like a herd of cows being led to a grassy field (instead of being cramped in small cells eating from a trough) to graze.  Amazingly enough we don’t need to know who the leader is; the leader is too far ahead and we can’t seem them but we are comfortable enough to follow blindly because there is comfort in following.

I want you to find someone on this Happenings List for the upcoming weekend; BE THE FOLLOWER THAT YOU ARE BUT WITH THE BENEFIT OF A HEALTHY BODY AND MIND!

Happenings This Weekend;

Kalamazoo

Friday

  • 9am – Track Running @ Kalamazoo Christian Track
  • 9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.

Saturday

  • 10:30am – Body Blast @ Portage YMCA (please go early as to get a spot and have help setting up if this is your first class)
  • 10:30am – Zumba @ Maple St. YMCA

Sunday

  • 3:30pm – Zumba @ Chung’s Black Belt in Portage – Please note this is a paid class; check with Melissa

Greater St. Joseph Co.

Saturday

Ø 8am – Quick Core @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena for pricing

Ø9am – Yoga @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena for pricing

Sunday

  • Check with me re: a group run that happenings in the evening.  I will get the time and location but I believe they walk/run approximately 3 miles

Get Your Sweat On by following someone to a gym!

Your Turn

Mel

Leave a Reply

