Shadow to the Light

Good morning ladies,

As I am, or so I consider myself to be, a food addict.  I had to make changes in the way I saw food and discover what food meant to me.  Where were my thoughts when I felt hungry even though I had only just eaten dinner an hour ago?  What was the food I desired when I felt hungry after having recently eaten?

When I first discovered I was a food addict I thought I would keep myself busy enough to ensure I didn’t have the time to eat whenever I wanted.  That works to this day under many circumstances however; it doesn’t handle the root cause of my addiction.  I have told some of you how my addiction to coffee was wiped from me in a manner I thought were rather unjust even though it needed to happen.  I thought after that, why isn’t the desire for food taken from me like the desire for coffee was?

Yesterday, on the way home from shooting pictures in St. Joe I passed by a DQ.  I wasn’t hungry but I felt I wanted a blizzard, pecan turtle blizzard to be perfectly precise.  This is not something I would have eaten if I had other people in the van with me, I wouldn’t go through the drive through if I had to use my debit card, so why was I ready to turn the van around and go back to that DQ and eat that blizzard I know I didn’t really need.  It was because I felt I was entitled to it.  I had just worked for a few hours, made some money and felt this would be a good treat to me.

If you meet me now, not having known what I looked like and ate like before, you probably couldn’t imagine I have this issue but I do.  My new body, my new attitude toward food, my new outlook isn’t one of a food addict in public and yet when left on my own I think of food so very often.  Can I control it, yes, to some degree but when I am alone, feeling entitled and tired I look to that sweet salty combination.

I don’t really know what the purpose I have telling you this; I think maybe it’s a judgment.  We judge each other in the way we look and the way we behave around people when the truth of us is in the shadow of our time alone.  Many of us, or maybe all of us try so hard to keep up with the person we think we should be but when we are alone the true nature of our deepest issues arise.  It was then, in the van that I needed to conquer my addiction by looking at it in the face and telling it to back down because I had Black Bean Soup and Tostadas waiting for me when I got home.

Let’s be honest about our true nature if only to ourselves.  Acknowledge there are parts of ourselves that we don’t want others to see know or even have inkling toward, but regardless of if others know about them we each need to be internally honest about them.  Look at your deepest darkest shadows, the thoughts you want to keep secret and let them out.  It is only when they are acknowledged can they be quelled, dissipated or laid to rest.

I have an exciting life ahead of me that I will not allow addiction to have a spot at the table of.  I acknowledge it but it no longer serves me, I have brought one of my shadows to the light and I have been freed by having done it.

Happenings Today

Kalamazoo

Monday

  • 6:40am – Women on Weights @ Maple St.  YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.
  • 9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.
  • 1:30pm – Zumba Gold @ Maple St. YMCA
  • 5:10pm – Body Blast @ Portage YMCA (please go early as to get a spot and have help setting up if this is your first class)
  • 7pm – Water Fitness for Health @ Portage YMCA

Tuesday

  • 8:30am – Cardio Tennis @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; check with the Y for pricing.
  • 12pm – Spinning @ Maple St. YMCA
  • 7:45pm – Your Turn Board Meeting @ Your Turn Office, 3234 S. Westnedge Ave, Kalamazoo – Please come share your ideas
  • 6pm – Pilates @ Portage YMCA
  • 6:30pm – Your Turn Couch 2 5K@ Celery Flats in Portage, we will meet at the Red Barn –This is the 1st Day of Week 4, we’re in it to run it.
  • 8pm – Zumba @ Chung’s Black Belt in Portage – Please note this is a paid class; check with Melissa

Wednesday

  • 6:40am – Women on Weights @ Maple St.  YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.
  • 9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.

Thursday

  • 8:30am – Cardio Tennis @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; check with the Y for amount.
  • 12pm – Spinning @ Maple St. YMCA
  • 12:10pm – Your Turn Gathering @ BAC – Come surround you with others who are striving for a similar health and wellness goal.  Voice your personal goal and receive support while moving in the direction of achieving it. 
  • 6pm – Belly Blast @ Maple St. YMCA
  • 6:30pm – Your Turn Small Steps to Gluten Free Cooking Session @ Can Do Kitchen in Downtown Kalamazoo – If you have not already signed up, please notify Dawn to ensure there is enough space and materials.  This will be a comprehensive class discussion the benefits of reducing gluten in your diet.  This class will offer guidance from women who have changed their way of eating and the benefits it has had for them.  It will also offer hands on cooking time and more knowledge and resources than you could imagine.
  • 8pm – Zumba @ Chung’s Black Belt in Portage – Please note this is a paid class; check with Melissa

Friday

  • 9am – Track Running @ Kalamazoo Christian Track
  • 9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.
  • 8pm – Xtreme Zumba @ The Venue in Kalamazoo – Please note this is a paid class; $10 at the door.

Saturday

  • 10:30am – Body Blast @ Portage YMCA (please go early as to get a spot and have help setting up if this is your first class)
  • 10:30am – Zumba @ Maple St. YMCA

Sunday

  • 3:30pm – Zumba @ Chung’s Black Belt in Portage – Please note this is a paid class; check with Melissa

Greater St. Joseph Co.

Monday

  • 4:45pm – Plyo Blazt @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena
  • 6:30pm – Zumba @ Constantine Fitness Center in Constantine – Please note this is a paid class; please check with Kathy
  • 6:30pm – Your Turn Small Steps to Healthy Eating @ George Washington Carver Center in Three Rivers

Tuesday

  • 6:30pm – Vinyasa Yoga @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena
  • 7pm – Dance @ Constantine Fitness Center in Constantine – Please note this is a paid class; please check with Kathy

Wednesday

  • 4:45 – Strength Circuit Blazt @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena
  • 7pm – Yoga @ Constantine Fitness Center in Constantine – Please bring light hand weights – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kathy

Thursday

  • 4:45pm – Interval Blazt @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union  – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena
  • 6:30pm –Your Turn HIIT @ George Washington Carver Center in Three Rivers
  • 7pm – Yoga Sculpt @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena

Saturday

  • 8am – Quick Core @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena
  • 9am – Yoga @ Zimmyville Fitness in Union – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena

If you have any questions as to who is going where please feel free to shoot me an email and I would gladly hook you up with the appropriate Your Turn Inspirator.  This list is to excite you, inspire you and motivate you to get involved!!!

We received this information from Gail Walters, Wellness Coach; she is teaching a class I thought may be of interest to some of you who desire a new way to look at weight loss.

Want to Lose Weight?  Join the Pilot Group;

EAT WHAT YOU LOVE…a mindful approach to eating

We all know the cycle….yo-yo dieting, eat, repent, repeat

You’ve tried every diet that’s come along and you’re still trapped in the cycle

It’s time for a new approach.  Join professional wellness coach Gail Walter and a group of 8 people like you…..sick and tired of dieting only to gain the weight back. Gail will guide you to make peace with and trust your body, while still reaching your goal of permanent weight loss.  The cost is $125. You will receive6 group coaching sessions and 1 one-to-one private coaching session with Gail.  Classes will start October 25 and are limited to the first 8 people who register.  To register contact Gail at 269-383-0025, or gail@vitalitywellnesscoaching.com.

Get Your Sweat On!

Your Turn

Melodie

Leave a Reply

