Expecting the Worst

Good morning ladies,

“Call me back; I’ve got something to tell you”.   What feeling came over you as you read those words in a text or heard those words on your voicemail?  Did you immediately assume that something has happened, you’ve done something wrong or someone is upset?  Do you/ have you ever assumed those words spoken or written were to tell you some good news or that you are loved?

A few days ago I got a text from a Your Turn Inspirator and the text said, “Are you available for me to call you between 3:30-4 today”.  I immediately assumed she was upset so I sucked in some air and texted her back and asked, because I couldn’t wait for 2-3 hrs to know, “Is everything OK?”

She was fine and actually wanted to talk about something grand but that isn’t what I originally assumed.  Why is it we instinctively go for the worst possible outcome in any situation?  It’s almost as if negativity is bred into us.

How do you feel and what do you think when you see someone, you believe they see you but don’t say anything?  Do you automatically assume, again, that they are upset and that you are to blame?

How do you begin to change that way of thinking; you do know, right, that it is completely possible that person was in thought and just didn’t see you.  I can’t tell you how many times my kids ask me, “What are you staring at” when I am staring at nothing just lost in thought and I wouldn’t have seen you if you were right in front of me.  Call me back, I’ve got something to tell you could just be, “I got a promotion at work” and they had to wait to call you until they were on break or after work.

The trick is to start tricking yourself that if you get to choose an outcome that it’s a positive one.  If you have 2 hours to mull over something make it GREAT!  They won the lottery and are going to share with you.  They are pregnant with that baby they had been trying for.  They got a buyer for their house.  Whatever good piece of news you can come up with and roll with it.  We make stuff up for the negative all the time assuming this and that; start assuming for the positive.  Create only greatness in your imagination if you don’t know the facts yet.

There is a wife that goes to the Y.  She doesn’t have a cell phone nor can she drive a car.  One morning she heard over the Y intercom to contact the front desk.  When she did she was told to stay where she was and her husband was coming to get her.  I imagine she imagined all sorts of things as this had NEVER happened to her before.  Come to find out they won the lottery!!!  Chances are, I have not asked, that as her imagination was running wild with the WHY’S of what was happening and that wasn’t on her thought palate.

The point is we can make believe it to be anything we want; we might just as well assume it to be awesome!  The saying goes something like assuming makes an ass out of me……I say at least be the ass who is grinning ear to ear almost hopping up and down.

Happenings Today:

Kalamazoo, Friday;

  • Ø Sports Bra Fitting @ Gazelle Sports in Kalamazoo plus 20% off your sports bra purchase
  • Ø 9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.

Get Your Sweat On

Your Turn

Melodie

 

Leave a Reply

