ALL IN

Good morning ladies,

As I write this email my ankle is throbbing, I think I may need to begin using my crutches again but I thought I had been taking it easy.  Do you know about “ALL IN”?  It is a personality trait that some of us have, I do.  It is when you are given a task or choose to do something you go for it with everything in you and be damn the consequences.  There are times that this personality trait is a blessing, starting Your Turn, losing my weight, training for the marathon but then there are times it is a curse, starting Your Turn, losing my weight, training for the marathon.  Nothing is ever 1 dimensional other than ALL anything.  It doesn’t matter if you go all in or all out, there is a sharp blade on the opposing side.

I am a reactionary learner on some things; my body being the biggest challenge.  When I decide I want to do something for myself I just do it and let the chips fall where they may; hello, most current is sprained ankle.  I knew I needed to be easy on my left foot but after a while of going ALL OUT I couldn’t take it anymore and went ALL IN and fell.  This time, I told Jimmy, “I am going ALL IN to heal”.  I am making the appointment with the PT for after; I am staying on crutches, my boot whatever it takes”.  I have 5 children, going all in to sitting doesn’t work out very well, there needs to be balance.  I went, to the best of my ability, ALL IN but after those 3-4 weeks I couldn’t take it anymore.

This week I went back to the gym, with my boot on, and took a Kettle Bell class.  I truly thought I wasn’t going all in because I was ONLY doing a 40 min class and only doing what I was able to do, I wasn’t going to swim after.  On Tuesday I was ONLY going to do weight lifting NOT anything else other than walking fast with the run group last night; yes, I still have my boot on for all these things.  See, you can see how I thought I was taking it easy.  NOT SO MUCH.  Today I am awake KNOWING I have to go ALL OUT again or do I?

Lord help me find balance (I am looking for advice here).  I do believe I am not alone in this personality trait because I do not appreciate being the only one laughed at as I stumble through this process.

As I think of YOU, whether you are all in or quite possibly ALL OUT you need to understand that this way isn’t the best.  Each of us needs a balance, a walk along the fence.  Maybe you went ALL IN to doing NOTHING for yourself and ALL IN to doing everything for those around you.  That doesn’t serve you and it doesn’t serve them.  We all need to learn and live balance.  The walk is sometime slippery along the fence line but I am told it is worth the balancing steps.

Happenings Today:

Kalamazoo, Wednesday;

  • Ø 6:40am – Women on Weights @ Maple St.  YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.
  • Ø 9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.

Greater St. Joseph Co.;

  • Ø 7pm – Your Turn Couch 2 5K @ White Pigeon High School Track in White Pigeon
  • Ø 7pm – Yoga Sculpt @ Constantine Fitness Center in Constantine – Please bring light hand weights – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena for pricing at kenakeller@hotmail.com

 

Get Your Sweat On

Your Turn

Melodie

Leave a Reply

