Where is Your Blame?

Good morning ladies,

There are two ways of looking at your current life situation. One would be, “OMG my life sucks because my previously full glass of red wine spilled all over my brand new white rug!” Another way would be, “Well, I now have the opportunity to see if that home-made cleanser I read about on Pinterest really works at removing red wine stains”. How you choose to view that red wine spillage says volumes about your current state of mind. You could be extremely angry about the spilled wine e and the offending stain, but does that anger take away the spot on the rug or give you back your wine? Chances are if you are in the angry state, you are going to be in the blame mode as well. You may find yourself asking, “Who did this to me and my wine and my rug?”

Damn YOU!!

Obviously the wine scenario is just that but, our entire lives are a series of moments that you can react to. If you have a weight problem you could choose to be angry about it, blame it on the family, job and lifestyle you lead. Or you can take action in whatever way feels right to you. That could be counseling, weight watchers, signing up for an exercise class…the list is almost endless. When you are in blame mode it makes it easy for us to not have to be accountable for the situations we find ourselves in. As a mom I find myself blaming my bad attitude on something my kids did or they said. They have become my scapegoat. I can have a great attitude regardless of their actions, behavior or attitude. It just takes more effort on my part. Fitness level is the same thing. You can blame how challenging it is to get into a routine due to your job, family, or lifestyle but there are many with the same challenges that accomplish it. So it is certainly NOT impossible.

When we blame, we give our power away; we lose ownership over ourselves. Blame is nothing short of a cop-out and it says volumes. Don’t feel alone in the blame mode; it has become the normal lifestyle for almost every human on earth. It makes it easy. We are, I believe, conditioned to blame in our own attempt to deflect, defer or to receive easier punishment or lessen our responsibility. I believe it is time we take that power back. When you find yourself in the midst of saying, “I can’t because…..” stop and think! Instead you can say, “I don’t want to” or “Let me see when I can”. Every “I can’t” statement is blame; it’s blame on your job, family, lifestyle etc. Take your power back and say, “I don’t like Zumba”. Be upfront and honest about your own likes, dislikes, values by stating them. It may feel strange at first because we were taught to not hurt feelings and we think if we don’t like or want to do the same things then we will hurt others’ feelings but it doesn’t have to be that way. Take ownership of who you really are, and be the person you were meant to be, likes and dislikes, wants and needs included.

I challenge you to watch those statements that blame what you did, didn’t do ,or don’t want to do on someone or something else. Stop yourself and see if you can bring back the ownership over that situation. Let me know if this is challenging to you; I know it is for me. I am always watching my words for the blame I give and the power I lose. It seems challenging but it is actually quite fun to see where my weak points are and try to correct them. The goal here isn’t perfection. It is to learn who we are, what we like, and what we don’t like, as it makes us more certain of ourselves.

Happenings Today:

Kalamazoo

Wednesday

  • Ø 6:40am – Women on Weights @ Maple St.  YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.
  • Ø 9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA – Please note this is a paid class; please check with the Y for the amount.

St. Joseph Co.

Wednesday

  • Ø 7pm – Your Turn Couch 2 5K @ White Pigeon High School Track in White Pigeon
  • Ø 7pm – Yoga Sculpt @ Constantine Fitness Center in Constantine – Please bring light hand weights – Please note this is a paid class; check with Kena for pricing at kenakeller@hotmail.com

 

Get Your Sweat On

Your Turn

Melodie

Leave a Reply

