I’m Going to Throw Up

 

Good Morning!
Standing there with the sun just beginning to warm the air and the dew tickling my toes. My heart was racing and my muscles began to tense. The conversations of the crowd and the voice of the race director all swirled inside my head like a 75 record played on the slow speed. Almost simultaneously as Melodie and I remember the feeling, Jessica looked up at us and said “I think I ‘m going to throw up!” For once it sounded like music to my ears, simply because it wasn’t me saying it.  That is the pre-race what am I doing here, look at these people, why did I say I would do this, I think I am going to throw up feeling. Unfortunately as a teen I struggled with anxiety and that nervous feeling was often followed up by me losing my breakfast. My mother had the greatest challenge.  She knew that once I made it to my destination and through the first five minutes I would be fine. Even though I would beg and plead for her to turn the car around and take me home.  When I think back to all of the wonderful experiences I would have missed had she given in to my anxiety. One of my favorite quotes is from the movie We Bought a Zoo, “All you need is 20 seconds of insane courage and something great will come of it.” I still get that “I’m going to throw up” feeling before every race, before walking into an exercise class, before sending an email, however, I know in my heart that if I give it 20 seconds of insane courage, step up to the starting line, walk into the class or push the send button, I will have a sense of accomplishment, a pride in myself, and an opportunity for something wonderful to happen.  When is the last time you had that feeling? Don’t avoid an experience because of the fear of feeling nervous.  Look forward to it, conquer it, and relish in the relief of knowing that your horizon has no boundary!
Today is a great day to Get Your Sweat On!
Dawn
Leave a Reply

