How to: Find Joy

Good morning,

I want to thank everyone who came out yesterday to Gazelle’s for Brooks Calvacade of Curiousities for the fun.  It was so great to see so many women, especially those I haven’t seen in a while and those I hadn’t met yet.  It was great fun for me.  I told Nick, the boyfriend of a woman going to Princess 1/2 Marathon in Florida in February, that he needs to find a bus like the Brooks Bus to drive us down there.  We could take turns running on the treadmill while he drives; it would be a relay of sorts.  How great would that be!!!

I read this article http://www.lifehack.org/articles/productivity/7-great-ways-to-unleash-your-inner-superhero-and-get-insanely-healthy.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+LifeHack+%28lifehack.org%29  7 Ways to Unleash Your Inner Superhero and get Insanely Healthy; yes, long title but good read.

I got to thinking about #5; this one Find Your Joy; not too long ago would have seemed like such a silly thing to do.  I was a mom; yes, I enjoyed my family but take time to find MY joy that doesn’t come from them???  How do you do that?  Let me just tell you TAKE THE TIME!!!  Bother answering the questions; What are you good at, What do you know, What are you passionate about….especially that one.  What are YOU passionate about?

Think about this, what type of conversation at a dinner party are you attracted to?  What type of people do you gravitate toward?  Who do you admire and why?  Those are ways to find out what you are passionate about.  Stages in life bring about different passions; when I was young, a teenager, beer parties brought me joy but I didn’t realize that the people I gravitated to at those parties weren’t drinking much; I liked the talkers and the deep thinkers.  During my fat years I became passionate about food but when I would discuss food with others it was about the nuanced details, why salt did what, why?  As I got healthy and it was as much about the HOW is it working rather than the Is it working, I’m a thinker.  I like to debate, question and come to conclusions.  I am passionate about LEARNING.  At each stage in my life I gravitated there even though I didn’t realize it until JUST NOW.

That brings us to #6; learning.  It’s so easy to lose passion due to duties.  It’s so easy to think if we’re not going to school then we’re not learning.  What do you FEEL strongly about; think about it, then take the time to learn about it.  You will find YOUR JOY, then as with Saturday’s post, let your body take the lead.  Don’t remind yourself that you are too busy or too old or too tired to too…….make the time, bother with the risk you are taking.  Finding joy in one thing will lead to finding it in another.

Good Luck!

Happenings Today:

  • 9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA
  • 1:30pm – Zumba Gold @ Maple St. YMCA
  • 7pm – Water Fitness @ Portage YMCA

Remember Runners of Constantine; we will NOT be meeting tonight as we will be meeting on Tuesday night @ Gazelle’s for Good Form Running!

If anyone is interested I will be weight lifting Tuesday morning at 8:30am at Maple St. YMCA; make arrangements and let’s get strong together!

Get Your Sweat On

Your Turn

Mel

Leave a Reply

