Comparative vs. Competitive

Good Morning!

I don’t believe that I am competitive, I am definitely more comparative!  I can find a quality in every woman that I admire about them and then I compare myself and come to the conclusion that I need to be more.  It is not that I want to be better than her and then rub her face in it. (the difference between competitive and comparative).  She is so nice, I should be more friendly.  She is so fit, I need to be more fit.  She has a beautiful outfit on, I need to dress better. She does Yoga, I should do Yoga. She reads to her kids, she eats cous cous, she is a good friend, she volunteers in the community, she meditates, she knits, she sews, she speaks five languages……The more wonderful women I meet the more inadequate I become! Until July 4th 2012. I overheard one runner saying to another “You were the one I wanted to beat”. What a powerful statement!
We so often focus on our goals and target the people ahead of us that we (I) sometimes forget that someone wants to be where you are right now.  You may not know who that person is or the characteristic you have that they wish to posses. Yes we have said it before, but it is worth repeating! You are an inspiration to someone. That does not mean that I am not going to try to be more.  However, it does mean that I am going to remind myself to be proud of the woman that I am today. Be proud of who you are today.  Believe that you are an Inspiration! Thank you for inspiring me.
I can not wait to see you at Gazelles Sunday from 12 to 5! Look for me I will be there looking for you!!!
Get Your Sweat On
Dawn Marciniak
2 thoughts on “Comparative vs. Competitive

  1. So very true! This was something I came to understand only recently myself and it totally changed the way I approach my own perspective on how far I’ve come.

    Great message!

Leave a Reply

