Internal Contemplation

Good morning,

This is a very personal problem that I know I do not struggle with alone.  When I got fat I got my family fat; when I got fit most of my family followed my lead.  However, there is a member that has struggled with finding the same healthy path so beneficial.  External family members have commented that Jimmy and I and Alex are looking so good and then they stop, even if our daughter is in the room; I want to cry in those moments.  Later I will ask the person who made the mention to please not make comments like those because it’s hard on me and I am sure it is hard on her.

My mother-in-law, who will make comments to me, of course when no one else is listening, will talk about what I can do to help our daughter.  She will say either, “I’ve notice that she is putting on weight, have you noticed?” or “do you think you should do something?”  I smile and say, “Don’t worry about it; she’ll find her way” or “I don’t think this is a conversation that you and I need to be having”.  Which makes things like today make me want to lose my mind?  My mother-in-law came over with 3, 1/2 eaten coffee cakes, a portion of a bunt cake, and sweet bread because she left a gathering, didn’t want to take them home for her to eat them and thought the kids would enjoy them; by kids she meant all the boys could share them.

I informed her that we don’t like to have things like that in the house but she doesn’t listen.  Do you see my point here?  She comments on our daughter having weight issues and yet she delivers shit for our house that either my daughter can watch the boys eat and feel like crap or eat and feel like crap and then be talked about because she ate it.

My boys are active and healthy.  They do not have weight issues nor are they sedentary but is it OK to eat crap if you are thin?  Do you look at people differently if they are thin eating a Big Mac vs if it is larger sized person?  Isn’t eating healthy for all size people appropriate; I mean, does it really matter if you are thin and stay thin, even fit, and eat just crap all the time.

I don’t have any answers to the questions in my mind only frustration.  Can we make a rule DO NOT ENTER MY HOUSE WITH SHIT FOOD THAT YOU DON’T WANT IN YOUR HOUSE.  Do not compliment how great we look then bitch if we are spending time exercising.  Do not mention that someone has a weight issue then take them out for Noodles & Co.

Words need to equal actions and actions need to equal words but that seems to be lost somewhere.  I have heard about husbands liking the way their wives are looking then get upset when dinner isn’t a pizza from Pizza Hut.  I have heard my own mother compliment me on how must weight I have lost then criticize me for putting my boys in tot spot while I exercised.  Why can’t people see that one doesn’t come, for the long term, without the other?

I will not be able to put an amazing spin and deliver an eloquent answer to this question but I will put it to you; do your actions follow your words?  Are you waiting till you get the body of your dreams only to be able to eat a large blizzard from Dairy Queen?  Seek within you the true desire; is it a healthy body with which to house your soul or is it just a body to be admired?  Are you able to remind your husband that you cannot have a wife with this beautiful body and, more importantly, a much healthier heart if you don’t eat to fuel?  Can I tell my mother-in-law, the next time she tries to bring these things into our home, to turn around and dump them in the trash because this home is about overall health and even those of us that are fit and active shouldn’t be eating those trans-fat items.

Contemplation is my mental place today; so if you see me and I don’t see you know that I am focusing inward.

Happenings today:

  • •8am – Running 3-4 miles @ Celery Flats with ME (shoot me a text and join me)
  • •9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA
  • •10:05am – Sculpt & Strength @ Portage YMCA
  • •1:30pm – Zumba Gold @ Maple St. YMCA
  • •5:10pm – Body Blast @ Portage YMCA

Get Your Sweat On

Melodie

2 thoughts on “Internal Contemplation

  1. I have a simple rule in my house: If I didn’t bring it in, then you can’t either. I do all the shopping, cooking, and meal planning in our home and that means I’m the big kahuna where making such decisions on food and nutrition are concerned.

    I don’t deny my family everything, but I do make a concerted effort to limit the bad in favor of the good—more so than not.

    • I think I am going to be making that point myself; I am tired of the extra crap that comes in there that I would NEVER purchase.
      I, also, buy special treats now but they don’t come prepackaged and loaded with difficult to pronounce ingredients.
      Have a GREAT day!

Leave a Reply

