From, Your Turn Inspirator

Oh how I LOVE the Friday email from a Your Turn Inspirator.  A, it let’s me know that Your Turn is working and B, I LOVE to hear how YOU are coming along in your health and wellness goals.  If YOU want to send in an email, PLEASE PLEASE do; not only is it inspirational to me but also it is a voice of fresh air.
“Seek and you will find.”  Ahhh… a refreshing simple reminder in the crazy busy world we live in.
But wait — “seek” requires action, doesn’t it?
I had a happy accident back in March.  I didn’t exactly know what I was seeking, but was surely seeking refuge from the beating I was giving myself.  You know the drill…. Where am I going? What is my purpose?  And one of the new Top Ten Favorites….Do you really want to be a potato dumpling the rest of your life?  And that’s when I met my Judie, my first YT Inspirator, as I would learn later is the proper term. It was this simple, short, chance meeting that started a whole new path for me.
This beautiful girl Judie kept asking me the silliest questions like, “have you ever thought about taking a water aerobics class?”  Uhh…that would be NO! I thought to myself since I’m not a swimmer and tried to politely tell Judie.  But she was persistent with me, and thank goodness she was!  She would NOT allow me to walk away without planting an important seed and a brochure in my hand listing some of the upcoming events for Your Turn, which I had not heard of before.  Judie was bursting with wonderful energy, a huge sparkle in her eyes, and she simply came alive when she talked about her classes and was trying so hard to pass it on to me.
Simple and small.  Simple thoughts, small steps.
When I got home that night, I read the brochure and looked at the upcoming events and thought to myself, “I have failed at fitness a thousand times on my own, and now I’ve stumbled upon a group of women almost begging to help me. And at no cost??  How can I possibly turn down help like this?”
“Do not be afraid of change.  Be afraid of not changing”.
The very next morning I started — simple and small.  My focus began with the things I could do, right then and there, which was to lace up my shoes and go for a walk, which was a wonderful reminder how much I used to enjoy walking.
One thing always leads to another.
A couple of days passed before the next YT event where I met my Mel, my Dawn, my Berta, my Fatimah, and my Karla.  My?  Yes, MY.  Because I felt “MY girls” immediately took an ownership and interest in me, my goals, my struggles.  Crazy good!  So I in turn took an ownership and interest in them and what Your Turn is trying to accomplish.  And DOVE RIGHT IN!
Mall walking with my Karla and my Sylvia, weight lifting with my Judie, and….believe it or not…met my Lexie three times a week for a weight class at 6:30am!  When the Couch to 5k came around, guess who raised their hand?  Me?!?  How can that be?  I told my Mel and my Dawn that I didn’t know if I could run, but I did know that I was going to try.  WoW! 
I asked a couple of my longtime friends if they could guess what is the most unlikely thing that has happened to me in the last couple of months.  Fun to hear their answers J Just for some perspective, one of their answers was that I am now the president of a small country.  That’s how far removed I had become!  No, they never did guess ‘getting fit’.  So yes, miracles do happen.  But not really….
“People are just about as happy as they make up their minds to be”.
I would tweak that just a bit and say “People are just about as HEALTHY as they make up their minds to be.”  Right?  Whatever you expect — you will find.  The mental aspect is so powerful, and really drives the entire train.
I have chosen to make fitness an expectation of myself by pushing through one small obstacle at a time.  And if it’s not fun along the way, I’m pretty sure I’m not interested.  I try to bring as much energy and fun to my new adventure and the way I am choosing to live my life now.  New people, new culture, and definitely lots of new experiences.  Like buying a sports bra—that’s one area I immediately went straight to the top of the class. Ended up with something that’s more vest than bra, but hey, it works and I wear it proudly. Even if it looks like it was issued by NASA for planetary exploration.
“I am a success today because I have friends who believe in me and I didn’t have the heart to let them down.”
When I’m on the trail alone and start to get tired, I pretend I’m in a relay and that my Monica, or my Karla are just around the next curve waiting for the hand-off, so I cannot stop.  I always wear a hat with a visor so I can only see a short distance in front of me rather than a long stretch yet to cover.  Whatever it takes, right?
Immersion
I surround myself with Your Turn as much as possible.  I’ve even Skyped in to a couple of events when I couldn’t be there in person.  My girls are both my inspiration and a compass to see where I’m going now.
I recently jumped at the opportunity to be a marathon race volunteer to see what 26,000 runners looks like with my own eyes.  It was truly incredible!  Quite an introduction to a world I have known nothing about.  I talked to hundreds of the runners before the race and was especially thrilled when I got to cheer on and celebrate a moment with the first time marathon or half runners.  Really great!
Going Forward
I find it best to focus not on how far I have to go, but rather that I’m regularly on the path.  And not worrying about the slips and imperfections, but to simply focus on being consistent.
We can all look back to our fitness history and see what works and what doesn’t.  Some find a tight leash to be helpful, but I know for myself that I need to keep it simple and loose.  I do not keep a food journal, because that becomes another task I do not have patience or persistence to keep up with.  I like to keep a simple view of the whole thing—it’s just math and movement.  Just being mindful of how many calories and how much movement.
Right now I’m sidelined with dreaded shin splints….and a little frostbite.  Yup…did some overdoing on the running + icing.  Am I deterred? Do I want to quit? NO NO NO.  It actually fuels my fire.  I’ve actually reached the point now that it no longer feels normal or good if I’m not moving in some way.
Any of you that miss the Your Turn gatherings are truly MISSING OUT!  Much wisdom, support, ideas, inspiration, strength, and friendships are there for the taking.  SO GREAT how Your Turn is evolving and growing now.  Have you looked at the calendar lately?
Still on the sidelines?  Then I say to YOU. Be crazy, be daring, be impulsive!  C’mon in, the water is fine!
From, Your Turn Inspirator
Happenings Today:
  • 8am – Cordio @ Tucker’s Ball Room Dance Studio
  • 9am & noon – Kettle Bell @ Maple St. YMCA
Your Turn Happenings this Sunday
  • Fresh Produce Market Cooking Demonstration, Sunday @ 2pm @ Spring Valley Crossing,  2535 Mt. Olivet, Kalamazoo, Michigan 49004  We will meet at the Club House of the apartment complex.  Feel free to call or text me if you need more “how to get there” information.   I will be making Watermelon, mint & lime slushies, healthy blueberry crepes, stuffed veggie boats.  YUM YUM YUM!!!  Please let me know if you are coming as I want to ensure there is enough food to go around.
See You Sunday and Get Your Sweat On!
2 thoughts on “From, Your Turn Inspirator

  1. awesome story. Thanks for the encouragement and the reminder to stay connected. I am feeling a little disconnected lately.

Leave a Reply

